Get That Lovin’ Feeling

volunteersI had the pleasure today of attending a fundraiser breakfast for Volunteers of America.  If you ever have the chance, I highly recommend attending…even if only for the education.

But there’s also something else that goes along with donating to good causes and volunteeringit’s that feeling of pride…not selfish or egotistical, but that feeling of knowing you did something that brings greater goodness to the world.  It adds a joyful skip to your walk, makes you throw your shoulders back and hold your head high…and it makes you want to do more.  I love this feeling, because when it’s there I know I’m doing exactly what I should be doing.  I’m living the life I want to live.  I’m being the person I want to be.  It makes me feel good.

Who is the best version of you?

Maybe donating or volunteering isn’t “your thing.”  Maybe it’s tutoring your neighbor’s kids (paid or not), being a teacher, spring cleaning your house, picking up trash in the park, or buying meat from your local farmer.  Do you see the pattern?  The point is, is that you are doing something that serves the greater whole.  It is not about improving your resumé or looking for recognition, but about doing the right thing.  (And yes, cleaning your own house is doing the right thing! — not only for your health and peace of mind, but for anyone with whom you interact.)

Be someone you are proud of.  Your heart will know what that is…and so will your smile and your walk!

Leave a Reply

