Raw Date Paste

raw date pasteSo if you haven’t already gathered, my favorite alternative sweetner is dates.  They are super sweet, and when you blend them with water they make a perfect liquid-esque sweetner that is perfect for baked goods, smoothies, oatmeal, puddings…it’s one of my staples and SUPER easy to make.

Any dates will work, but I have found that Medjool dates are usually softer and sweeter than other varieties.

Ingredients:
1 -3 cups dates, pitted
1 cup water or coconut water

Preparation:
For an easier blending process, soak dates in water for at least 30 minutes.  Then add the dates and the soaking water to a blender and blend on high until smooth and creamy.

Keep in mind that this recipe is not an exact science.  You can add more dates and less liquid to make it more concentrated in sweetness or vice-versa.  I usually find that for my size blender I have to use at least a cup of water.

Stores for at least a week in the fridge…and although I haven’t tried it myself, I heard it stores beautifully in the freezer for about 3 months.  So go ahead – make a big batch!

One thought on “Raw Date Paste

  1. Pingback: Feel Good Cake

Leave a Reply

