Sugar-free & Flour-free Cake

yellow cakeIf you’ve tried my older Yellow Cake recipe and were disenchanted, this cake recipe proves to be different.  It has a lighter texture and is more cake-like, where the older recipe is reminiscent of Japanese cheesecake (or so my tasters tell me!).  And if you tried the older cake recipe and liked it, you will love this new one!

I’m always working on improving my recipes.  So thanks to all those who have generously contributed their taste buds and opinions to my cakes and cupcakes in the past year…I know there were some questionable ones in the mix.  This recipe is dedicated to you – my latest and greatest!

And if you prefer chocolate, I’ll be posting a chocolate cake – sugar free and gluten free – recipe soon too.

cake w/ chocolate frostingIngredients:
1/2 cup organic butter, room temperature
1/2 tsp stevia powder extract (no fillers)
1/2 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup garbanzo bean flour
1/4 cup almond flour (not almond meal)
2 tsp aluminum free baking powder
1/4 tsp sea salt or himalayan salt
4 eggs
1 cup rice milk
1 1/2 tb pure vanilla extract

Procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Butter baking dish of choice. Set aside.
2. Cream butter and vanilla together.
3.While continuing to beat the butter and vanilla, add one egg at a time until thoroughly combined.
4. In a separate bowl mix together the dry ingredients: stevia, coconut flour, almond flour, garbanzo flour, baking powder, salt.
5. Add a portion of dry ingredients to wet ingredients. Mix thoroughly. Add a portion of the milk, again mixing well. Continue back and forth until all ingredients are mixed.
6. Spread into desired baking dish and bake for 35 minutes.

Insert a toothpick into center of cake to check for doneness. If toothpick comes out clean, cake is done, if not bake for an additional 3-5 minutes and check again.

Let cool and pair with frosting of choice, or eat as is.  This will keep in the fridge for at least a week, and is good even cold.

2 thoughts on “Sugar-free & Flour-free Cake

  1. Hello!

    This cake sounds delicious-I am looking forward to baking my first ever cake!! I recently have added sugar free and dairy free to my already gluten free lifestyle…so I look forward to this exciting recipe!!
    I wonder, how do you think flax milk would taste in the recipe in substitution for rice milk??

    Krissie

    Like

    1. I’ve never tasted flax milk before. The thing about rice milk is that it is typically sweeter than other seed and nut milks. But I would totally try it…at the very least, you can just add more sweetener to the flax milk- like stevia or stevia extract.

      Like

Leave a Reply

