Nut-Seed Muesli

I often get asked what I eat for breakfast…if I don’t eat gluten or sugar or dairy, then what does one eat?!?  I like easy breakfasts, as I don’t enjoy cooking in the morning- not even oatmeal. So smoothies and granola-esque dishes are my go-to’s. Since I don’t eat boxed cereals anymore, and I don’t always have time to make my own sugar-free granola, I needed a quick alternative- hence my nut-seed muesli. Combined with a nut milk or pureed frozen fruit, it’s a dense enough meal that leaves me satisfied until lunch AND I enjoy the textures and flavors while eating.

There is no right or wrong way to create your own nut-seed muesli; simply gather and mix together your favorite nuts, seeds, dried berries, and other flavors. Store in a large glass container, and voila! you have a nourishing breakfast ready when needed. However, if you’d like a little more guidance, I’ve outlined my basic recipe below:

Choose 3 or more of the following:

chia seeds
pumpkin seeds
sunflower seeds
millet
gluten free oats
hemp seeds

Choose 1 or more:
slivered or chopped almonds
cashew pieces
walnut pieces
pecan pieces

Choose 1 or more:
goji berries
raisins
cranberries (preferably unsweetened or fruit juice sweetened)
currants
any other dried berries

other optional flavors:
cacao nibs
shredded coconut
cinnamon
clove

Serve like granola or cereal with your favorite (nut) milk and/or pureed frozen fruit.

IMG_0051

Leave a Reply

